Judicial Merit Selection Commission

Sen. George E. "Chip" Campsen III, Chairman Rep. Bruce W. Bannister, Vice-Chairman Sen. Gerald Malloy Sen. Greg Hembree Rep. Murrell Smith Rep. J. Todd Rutherford Kristian C. Bell Michael Hitchcock Joshua L. Howard Andrew N. Safran



Elizabeth Herlong Brogdon, Chief Counsel Emma Dean, Counsel

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

MEDIA RELEASE

November 17, 2016

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission found the following judicial candidates qualified and nominated at the public hearings held November 14–16, 2016:

Supreme Court

Seat 5 The Honorable Ralph King (Tripp) Anderson III, Columbia, SC

The Honorable Diane Schafer Goodstein, Summerville, SC

The Honorable George C. James Jr., Sumter, SC

Court of Appeals

Seat 1 The Honorable Paul Edgar Short Jr., Chester, SC

Seat 2 The Honorable Harris Bruce Williams, Columbia, SC

Seat 9 Blake Alexander Hewitt, Conway, SC

The Honorable David Garrison (Gary) Hill, Greenville, SC

The Honorable Alison Renee Lee, Columbia, SC

Circuit Court

7th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 Grace Gilchrist Knie, Campobello, SC

The Honorable James Donald Willingham II, Moore, SC

Public hearings for the remaining judicial positions will resume on Tuesday, November 29, 2016.

According to the current schedule, judicial candidates are not free to seek or accept commitments until Noon on Tuesday, January 17, 2017.

The Election is currently scheduled for Noon on Wednesday, February 1, 2017.

Correspondence and questions should be directed to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows: Elizabeth Herlong Brogdon, Chief Counsel, Post Office Box 142, Columbia, South Carolina 29202, (803) 212-6629 or Lindi Legare, JMSC Administrative Assistant, (803) 212-6623.